Turning 30 feels quite surreal. If you had asked me what my 30s looked like in my late teens/ early twenties, I wouldn’t have been able to tell you as I honestly didn’t think I would make it to my 30s.

I entered my 20s by reporting my uncle for sexually abusing me as a child, in a very dark state of depression and trying to muddle my way through university. I spent my evenings drowning my thoughts and emotions in far too much alcohol it is surprising I still have a liver! 

There have been many changes over the last ten years. I have moved house four times, been in and out of several relationships, and lost some friends and family. 

Whilst there have been a lot of life challenges, there have also been so many amazing things happening along the way. I completed my first university degree in Business and Management, completed the London Marathon, took control of my mental health, fell in love, survived a pandemic, got married, been on several holiday and bought a house. These are just some of the things I have accomplished in the last 10 years.

I also now feel that I have developed so much as a person. My outlook on life is way more positive than it has ever been. I also know there is still so much more to look forward to.

The biggest life lesson I have learnt? Even when you feel as though you want to give up, keep going as there is always light at the end of the tunnel.

I have also decided that now that I am entering this new decade of my life it is time to focus on my physical health. My twenties were all about getting my mental health back on track and having the tools to maintain it. My thirties are going to be about my physical health. I am drawing a line under the many bad habits I have picked up and put down throughout my twenties and turning over a new leaf to build a healthier lifestyle.

I am so lucky to have an incredibly supportive wife and family who have helped me to develop into the person I am today. I am looking forward to seeing what the next year/ years brings.

Leave a comment

Trending